Thanks:

On Leaving Austin

Austin was my first girlfriend. Like any first loves, there are photos of us everywhere.

Me and her on social media, with my friends. with the rest of my life.  She was always there, leaning against a wall.  Watching and waiting to see what I’d do next.  I live to amuse her.

How can you just leave when a place is your entire identity?

When she’s left her mark on you and you’ve bled on her?

In the city, abandoned warehouses rot along the railroad tracks that branch East off Mopac. Third takes a corner into Baylor and the old buildings are easily accessible from a side street. We’d just park the car a couple of blocks away and walk.

This is where I first kissed Linda Palini, where I went 6 rounds with Eddie until he went down with my uppercut, where I spray-painted my reddit handle.

The nearby traffic drones into the sound of the ocean.  Except for when the train roars by, it’s more peaceful than any cave or natural formation the guys would try to find in the hill country.

You don’t have to escape into a forest to find yourself.

Leave a comment